• RSS Refurmods VGB

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Ads

Day 2 Wait of Pre-ordered Xbox 360 250gb Slim from GameStop


So yesterday I traveled the twenty-minute ride to Monroe NC to trade in my core Xbox 360 for the new Xbox 360 250gb Slim. If you have not heard, Microsoft has said they will not call it the slim. I have not tried to find out why this is, but do any of us really care anyway?

Some of you may decide that trading in your console for the new one is not for you, and that is something I completely understand. My trade-in was more to save money and consisted of my older Xbox 360,wireless controller, 120gb hard drive, wireless network adapter, 3 games. So my total cost was $55 dollars including having to update my GameStop card.
You may be asking your self, what is the point of all this? Well I live in an area with little to no high-speed internet service, and on top of that I am on the other side of my house from the router.In order for me to get a better connection to the router, I needed to upgrade to the wireless N adapter which runs about a hundred new or fifty to sixty used. I had also filled up my 120gb hard drive with videos, games and DLC’s, so my needs were met when the new Xbox 360 slim was introduced. I also priced what I had already spent for the older console and accessories, three hundred forty was my cost, even if I sold the used adapter and hard drive I still would have spent another seventy dollars which would have brought my total to four hundred. With the trade-in I was saving my self eighty dollars I can now spend to re-buy the ones I trade-in in the first place.

Trading-in your gaming console in a very personal choice that each person has to make for them self. Some are even concerned that the new Xbox 360 slim could over heat and show the same symptoms as the Red Ring of Death. I feel very confident that Microsoft does not want to go through something similar, so much that I was willing to trade-in mine and wait for my new console without knowing when it will arrive.Wating……..waiting………waiting…………..waiting.

Side Note: If you are planning on trading-in your console at Gamestop and you have the HD/Composite cables already, ask them if you can switch out the ones from the box. This could save you some money if you don’t want to by a HDMI cable or new HD/Composite cable.

( Pre-order your Console from RefurmodsShop or GameStop )


Modded Controllers - Evil Controllers

7 Responses

  1. You lucky dog. I don’t have a chance in hades to get my hands even close to one of these bad boys… Congrats!!

    • Checkout GameStop.com to see what trade-in offers they have and add up what you got you may not have to pay a dime, if your lucky.

  2. if its anything more than free, then unfortunately i’m not going to be able to play ball due to the fact that Jr. is on the way all my cash flow is going to that. I’m glad they are being generous with their trade in values so that people can be helped with this purchase though, its kind of a little kick back since they screwed us over when they separated the movie trade in’s from the game trade ins, and it seemed to me if you didn’t buy a game and beat it in a month you didn’t get crap for the trade anyway, which is why Gamefly.com has become so appealing and successful.

    • I agree, but only on some levels, I do think that GameStop controls the trade-in values to a point, that’s why their stock took a hit when Bestbuy started taking trade-ins.Second I think that Gamefly is a little to high for what you get. I am to the point that for me to trade-in anything, I better be getting something out of it, ex: Xbox 360 Slim.

  3. best buy taking trade ins? movies? games? both?

    • I only know about the games and consoles. One of the cool things about it is you get to see how muh the trade-in amount is before you do it, unlike GameStop.Amazon is taking trades too but some of the amounts are funny, say you want to trade-in Mass Effect 2 in, they mighte give you 25, but sell it for 40 to someone else. I would much rather sell it my self for 30 or 35 and pocket the money my self.

  4. Nice Review…But I still believe PS3 for my game console

Leave a comment